U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Garden
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 09-20-2014, 06:55 PM

45 posts, read 78,194 times

Advertisements

Strange weed ID?-image.jpg

I've never tried to attach a picture before, so I apologize in advance if this doesn't work. I just moved into my home about a year ago, and over the past few weeks this strange weed has popped up everywhere, and I've never seen anything like it. It is brown, looks almost like sticks. It has reddish buds that turn into small thin purplish flowers. It seems to be spreading by rhizomes, or at least appears in clumps, and it seems to like the shade. I've tried googling but haven't found anything that resembles it. Does anyone have any idea what this is?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 09-20-2014, 06:58 PM

Attachment 136424Here's another picture if it helps...

Old 09-20-2014, 07:37 PM

25,631 posts, read 29,103,055 times
Location?

Old 09-20-2014, 07:39 PM

9,985 posts, read 6,379,372 times
How to Identify Purple Flower Weeds | eHow

Old 09-20-2014, 07:47 PM

Sorry, I'm in NJ

Old 09-20-2014, 07:51 PM

16,702 posts, read 20,456,636 times
Quote:
Originally Posted by Monet789 View Post
Attachment 136424Here's another picture if it helps...
This attachment didn't work. What works easiest for me, is to upload pics to a site like photobucket, then use the photo icon and put in the web address.

My first thought was pussywillow. I'll go do some googling...

Old 09-20-2014, 07:59 PM

15,511 posts, read 12,502,834 times
Quote:
Attachment 136423