U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Garden
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 08-05-2017, 08:31 AM

4,033 posts, read 7,712,699 times

Advertisements

I really want to plant more wildflowers (including milkweed--I saw a cat yesterday munching away on one of my milkweed plants ). However, I've run out of space in the beds that I currently have.

So, I have decided to repurpose part of the lawn and some other grassy areas that would be much better served as wildflower habitats. However, I have never done this before, so I am hoping for someone to give me some advice.

Do I need to dig up the grass with a rototiller? Or can I just plant seeds amid the existing grass, maybe by scoring rows?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 08-05-2017, 08:59 AM

1,535 posts, read 645,056 times
You are gonna need to remove all the grass before atempting to plant anything. I have a small tiller that works wonders when I feel the need to extend my beds. If I was 20 years younger I probably would just use a spade fork to get it done.

Old 08-08-2017, 06:36 PM

Thanks, LIcenter.

I love your garden and will be planting something similar. I was just wondering: if I seed (in the fall), should I put down mulch?

Also, do you weed your garden and, if so, how (ie. how do you get in there)? I ask b/c the area that I plan to repurpose is about 10x10 and I am concerned that I will not be able to get in there to weed unless I leave a "lane" in the middle...

Old 08-08-2017, 08:38 PM

11,916 posts, read 26,953,044 times