U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Garden
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 12-14-2017, 11:06 AM

2,608 posts, read 3,932,726 times

Advertisements

I have first year roses, hydrangeas, and mums that I have in pots. When I put them in the garage for overwintering in the middle of November, all the leaves were green and healthy. In the past few weeks, the leaves are starting to turn yellow (on the roses and mums) and dropped. I'm nervous because this is my first time overwintering in the garage and I purchased the hydrangeas and roses this spring. It is 11F outside. How often should I water them? How do I keep them alive until spring in the garage?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 12-14-2017, 11:42 AM

7,685 posts, read 687,846 times
If your garage is not heated, IMO, bring them somewhere inside. If you still want to try..use space heaters ...water sparingly...you don't want to encourage growth during winter.

Some yellowed leaves are common this time of year.

FYI I do overwinter in garage but it is heated.

Old 12-14-2017, 11:50 AM

My garage is not heated. But how low should the temperature go for them to reach dormancy?

Old 12-15-2017, 08:27 AM

Location: East of Seattle since 1992, originally from SF Bay Area
26,277 posts, read 45,605,839 times