U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Garden
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 1.5 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
Jump to a detailed profile or search
site with Google Custom Search

Business Search - 14 Million verified businesses
Search for:  near: 

Old 04-11-2008, 01:41 PM

1,592 posts, read 2,953,639 times
Default The Best Growing Season in the remote U.S.

Which state in the lower 48 has the best growing season? Someplace very rural and with wide-open spaces

I'm looking to move in a year, once I'm debt-free, and settle down in one place permanently. There are so many factors that play into choosing a place to live and I've been evaluating and researching all of them for the last two years. What I've found is that, over this time period, what's important to me keeps changing. This isn't making things easier!

At first it had to be very rural. Don't bother me and I won't bother you.
Then I got over that and decided that being near a rural, small town is fine. After all, I really do love people, I was just going through an "I hate the city-phase."

Then gardening became important. That led me to wanting to be as self-sufficient as possible and living off-grid. But, now I'm learning how expensive it can be to live off-grid.

Location-wise, I wanted to live in the mountains. I'm still highly considering western Montana, northwestern Wyoming, northern Idaho or eastern Oregon. The only thing that get to me about these areas is the short growing season. I hate hot and humid weather and can handle any level of cold pretty well.

So, now, this is the conclusion I've come to: (for now)