U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Garden
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 09-18-2008, 10:24 AM

730 posts, read 2,543,466 times

Advertisements

Hi,

I recently bought a gardenia (tree?) and it is doing very well on my terrace. I was told to bring it in before it get too cool if I want it to survive.

My question is, once I bring it in, how do I care for it to try and keep it going until next spring?

I'm not very good with plants at all and am really trying so any help would be appreciated!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 09-18-2008, 12:45 PM

1,077 posts, read 3,797,486 times
I grew a gardenia for years inside a 9 x 12 bunkhouse room. LOL.

Used to mist it at first, but then let that go and it survived just fine. Just some good indirect light and frequent watering should do the trick.

Old 09-18-2008, 04:04 PM

13,483 posts, read 29,425,055 times
Quote:
Originally Posted by LynnePatrice View Post
Hi,

I recently bought a gardenia (tree?) and it is doing very well on my terrace. I was told to bring it in before it get too cool if I want it to survive.

My question is, once I bring it in, how do I care for it to try and keep it going until next spring?

I'm not very good with plants at all and am really trying so any help would be appreciated!
Where do you live? I have my gardenias planted in the ground and they survive temps down to 25 degrees (with some yellowing). In a container I think they would be okay down to 32 degrees.

Old 09-18-2008, 05:00 PM

2,035 posts, read 4,415,979 times