U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Garden
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 10-10-2008, 11:13 AM

11 posts, read 87,966 times

Advertisements

I am new to the region, and just moved into our new house (yes I was the 1 buyer for September :-). However I am used to condo living (no lawn) and definitely not used to St. Augustines grass and year long warm weather. So now that I have to take care of a lawn year round, I could use some tips/advice on treatment etc. I can handle the mower and trimming portions :-) But do people regularly treat for weeds bugs, etc around here? If so, what do you use, and how does it effect the lawn, etc...

Thanks for some input!

-Todd
Rate this post positively Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 10-10-2008, 02:43 PM

13,768 posts, read 35,955,272 times
Moved thread so you can get some advice from some experts..

Old 10-10-2008, 04:02 PM

6,864 posts, read 10,723,674 times
St Aug grass requires a lot of water. Stressed grass blades will wilt/curl and show a blue hue. It propagates itself with runners. If you have bare spots, you can speed up the fill in time with plugs. An old St Aug lawn will develop thick thatch. Make sure lawn mower has a sharp blade so that blade will cut grass blade. Dull blade will rip grass blade.
If you see yellowing, use fertilizer with 2% iron.
Enemy #1 of St Aug is chinch bugs. Evidence will show as a 6 inch dead grass spot. If you don't kill them, the spot will be 6 feet in a few days. The two effective chemicals to kill them have been banned. I forget the name of the less effective replacement.

Old 10-15-2008, 05:34 PM