U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > General Moving Issues
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 01-03-2011, 08:22 AM

151 posts, read 282,379 times

Advertisements

Hello all, I stumbled across this forum weeks ago while trying to research possible moving sights for me. I currently reside south of Buffalo (towards Jamestown NY if anyone knows where that is). I graduated from a state university in NY in December of 2009 and have not been offered one job in my degree during a 1yrs time (I told myself when I graduated I would give myself one year to find a college related job in my home state before I decided to pick up and move).

Im looking for any advice on where to go in life, I have some money saved up (roughly $10,000) from doing part time restaurant jobs and saving up over the years

Heres some background on me and what I am looking for

NYS Bachelors Degree in Criminal Justice with a minor in Sociology (I also interned with my local Sheriff's Academy and the Senior Crime Scene Investigator wrote my a letter of recommendation along with a Performance Evaluation)

I have lived in Western NY all my life so I can deal with the worst of winters (200+ inches of snow last year)

Im a big hockey enthusiast (I love attending hockey games).

Im huge on the outdoors and really enjoy all 4 season (Here in western NY we have winter from October-April which is rough later down the line)

I have 10 years of restaurant experience and 7 years of cooking experience (so finding a restaurant job would be easy for me even though I really want to get out of that line of work but I use it as a fallback plan)