U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > General Moving Issues
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 08-29-2006, 04:25 PM

338 posts, read 1,323,175 times

Advertisements

Okay, I think I recall a thread about this before-
Here are the facts: Going from NY to Eastern TN
* I will probably have to go down before my husband (I'm a teacher)
* We will probably have to rent
* Three kids
* 1 cat and 1 dog

Questions/Concerns:

How do I go about renting an apartment/house "there" from "here"?

What do I do with our stuff until we get settled? (PODS? STORAGE? or WHAT?)

Who do I trust to drive and/or deliver our stuff?

Thanks for ANY help--I have only moved once before and that was only around the bend...not three States away--that was without kid and from a small aprtment to a larger house.

Now I have to go so FAR away~ from a 4+ bedroom house to ????
I may have to be a "single" parent for the first few weeks (husband tying up loose ends here)
I have to first FIND a job and then work in a new place with new people, rules
and I have to find a trust worthy realtor...

HELP- I am starting to panic--it is only 10 months away and I know it will fly by as we get ready...

THANKS in advance!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 08-29-2006, 07:04 PM

571 posts, read 2,294,432 times
If you can't go "scouting" for a place to rent ahead of time, you can find rentals online. Try sites like apartments.com. You can really get a lot of good info, i.e., pictures, pet policies, floorplans, etc.