U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > General Moving Issues
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 07-27-2014, 11:35 PM

8 posts, read 6,589 times

Advertisements

Hey guys,

I posted this in the Indy page but haven't received any replies so I thought I'd try here. I'm a new grad student who just started a 1 year lease in a pricey apt downtown. I lived 10 hours away before the move so I didn't get a chance to check out other places, etc, so we just signed online without seeing it. My parents are helping me pay for the first year since they kinda insisted on someplace very close and safe and know it's pricey.

But I'm 25 now and feel I'm over living near students and dealing with the noise and stuff, so I really would like to rent a small house. My aunt says it's a bad idea and I will be robbed and killed. I haven't presented the idea to my parents yet. I truly think I could handle it though and I would be at the house basically everyday.

So, this would be about 10-11 months from now. Will they ask me for a co-signer still if I can't produce a W2 with enough income? The fin. aid office is offering a letter saying I would have more than enough loans to cover the rent. Would I still need a co-signer in that case? How about if I offered to pay the year's rent all at once? Would I still need a co-signer? Obviously I am a very responsible student, very clean and quiet, so I would be a good tenant. Will the landlords be willing to rent a single family home (2, 3, even some with 4 bedrooms are affordable for me) to a single student?