U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > General Moving Issues
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 05-27-2015, 04:46 PM

221 posts, read 190,084 times

Advertisements

I have a general question I would like to hear people's opinions on (but you'll have to read my story first ):

In the past 5 years, I have moved 3 times. Each time I moved was because of a job (I'm a teacher and due to various circumstances, I have never taught in one school for more than 2 years...can be quite common for newer teachers until they get tenured). All of my moving happened in the same state, in the same metro area (to give an idea, I live in the Minneapolis-St. Paul area. There are a LOT of suburbs surrounding Minneapolis-St. Paul, but the northern suburbs and the southern suburbs are a good hour apart at least, so it is a decent sized metro area). I never felt particularly attached to any place I lived, so moving was never an issue (just a pain!). The schools where I have gotten jobs were also pretty far apart so it felt like moving was a necessity.