U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > General Moving Issues
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 12-26-2015, 05:18 PM

282 posts, read 169,489 times

Advertisements

So I'm moving from California to Iowa this summer. Nearly 2000 mile trip.

My current plan is to take my car, pack it up with everything I can, and go. No trailer. No renting a moving van. Just what I have with me.

Why I think this'll work? My car is in good mechanical order, so not an issue there. I'm a student with moderately crappy furniture that I plan on selling when I move. It's cheap stuff and not worth hauling. I have a cat, so that complicates any route I take. And the amount of possessions I care about bringing are low (clothes, some electronics like my computer and game system, and other things I can just pack and have shipped later by a friend I can leave it with like books).

I was going to fly, but decided I'd do better to bring my car with me instead of selling it and getting a used one where I go. Figure I know the quirks of my car, but concerned if California emissions regulations means I'll have lower gas mileage than a car from Iowa. Or are there perks there? I also figure I have just a little too much stuff to comfortably fly with. And the price difference is perhaps negligible at best, even though it'll save me a day or two.

Train seems a nice follow up, but again I want to bring my car with me and don't know if I get the car on a train. Is that something that's offered?