U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > General U.S.
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 07-15-2010, 03:31 PM

3 posts, read 3,445 times

Advertisements

Hello all

I am a soon-to-be college graduate. As soon as I graduate, I would like to move out of my oppressive southern town and into a more "progressive" area. I am a single female looking to live near a beach. What areas are there that would fit the beachy-progressive theme for me? Price is a factor as well (so practically anywhere in California intimidates me :P)

Thank you!!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 07-15-2010, 09:55 PM

57,210 posts, read 81,631,096 times
Maybe Virginia Beach, Cape May NJ, Miami and Wilmington NC.

Old 07-15-2010, 10:05 PM

5,990 posts, read 11,617,873 times
Nowhere in the South, unless you consider Miami to be the South.

I'd suggest Michigan or Minnesota. Both are states with Great Lakes shoreline, have a low cost of living, and are fairly liberal. Ann Arbor, MI, and Duluth, MN would be good choices. If you don't mind more snow, then Marquette, MI or Houghton, MI (both in the Upper Peninsula or U.P.) would be good choices. All of these cities are on or near Great Lakes beaches.

Old 07-15-2010, 10:49 PM

291 posts, read 655,990 times
Don't get intimidated by California! Try Santa Cruz just south of San Francisco along the coast and surrounded by Redwoods and giant artichokes. or in SoCal try SaMo (Santa Monica) or cheaper Venice where you can be all that you want to be.

Old 07-26-2010, 07:41 AM

21,302 posts, read 30,642,204 times
Quote:
Originally Posted by travelhungry View Post