U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > General U.S.
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 08-10-2010, 02:49 AM

13 posts, read 27,670 times

Advertisements

I'm going home soon! Going back to the USA, that is! After living overseas since I was a kid (blame it on my expat parents) so anyway, I'm young, just divorced, I have a great 9-year-old son, and I really need help on deciding WHERE in the USA to start a new beginning, with my boy.

I don't "have" to settle for any state, since I won't be working. I will just be receiving money. Although, I am a writer my profession, and have a recently released book, and will continue to write, my point is- I am not tied to a company or a job. Therefore, I am completely FREE to choose anywhere to live! Now it's just down to the business of choosing a city in a state wherein I am sure my son and I can start new beginnings and be really happy.

I have family in MD. I don't want to live there because the cost of living is too high and the crime rate is too high.

I have family in VA but I am just not sure if anything is going on in VA?

I have family in Ohio, but Ohio feels.....flat....??? Or I could be wrong!!!????

I have family in SC but I don't know anything about SC.

And, you may call me a bit of an explorer/adventurer type. I have no problems with "staking out my land" and claiming my area! I could just live where I have no family, as long as it's a place that will make us happy!

What I look for are the following:

1. a safe place for my son and I