U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > General U.S.
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 12-28-2010, 09:34 AM

181 posts, read 288,584 times

Advertisements

I'm 56, no longer employable (out of work two years), and after a major illness my hearing went down the tubes so I could no longer do what I had been doing for 30 years, no health insurance - can't afford to pay 1/2 my income on insurance with a high deductible, and am renting. I have a partner and 401ks and pensions looming. They're not much but at least they'll be available in a few years.

Where do we live to maximize what we have. I know about cutting down basic living expenses. We sold our house a the right time and that gave us the $$ to get out of NYS.

We've always been super at making the right decisions but I had a well-paying job. We lived modestly in a small home in a not-so-hot neighborhood in preparation for the future but not this.

Who else is in a similar situation and what are you doing? We do not have family who can help. I have a sis in a similar situation but she doesn't realize yet that she'll have my niece to be able to help her out.

It's not what I envisioned my future would be as a "forced retiree." I feel stuck and waiting out my days until I finally escape the world. Ironically, I received an article from my partner this morning (from The Huffington Post) that talked about how well other countries are doing because "American" companies are outsourcing there... That's a given.

What do we do ... Folks? What are you doing?

Health insurance, no health insurance? We have no house, no one can take what we don't own.