U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > General U.S.
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 01-07-2011, 08:06 PM

410 posts, read 701,200 times

Advertisements

I am a bookkeeper looking to leave Florida and since I am a bookkeeper, I need rent to be under $500.00 (a studio is fine). This leaves only a few cities in the U.S. (where I will also be able to find a job). I don't know much about these cities, though. I love nature and cold weather, but beggars can't be choosers.

Cities with jobs and cheap rent: Texas heads the list.

Houston
Dallas
Fort Worth
Colorado Springs
Indianapolis (I'm liking this one)
Columbus, OH

Feel free to add to the list. But I have to be able to find a studio or apartment for under $500 unless the job I land will pay more than what I make in Florida ($12.00 an hour).
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 01-07-2011, 09:01 PM

161 posts, read 557,292 times
I am quite familiar with every place you listed.

Of the cities you listed, I would pick Indianapolis. I have always loved Indiana and the people from there. Even on trips to other places or in the workplace, I have met some wonderful people who end up being from Indiana. The economy is more stable than other parts of the state or region.

I am living in Texas for the moment taking care of a family member. I hate it, and would not recommend it. If you like cold weather, this is not the place either.