U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > General U.S.
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 1.5 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
Jump to a detailed profile or search
site with Google Custom Search

Business Search - 14 Million verified businesses
Search for:  near: 
Reply Start New Thread

Old 08-22-2006, 12:32 PM

47 posts, read 218,654 times
Default Best Cities for Single Moms

Hi, I am a single mom of two (ages 13 and 7) and I am curious to know if anyone has any information on the best cities to relocate/live for a single mom? I work in the banking industry and I am looking for a city with little or no snow and a decent cost of living. Any advice would be appreciated. Thanks!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 08-22-2006, 03:11 PM

2,407 posts, read 10,078,900 times
The first city that came to mind to me was Charlotte seeing as how it's a banking mecca, has a low cost of living for an urban area, and has relatively mild weather and averages only around 7 inches of snow per year (by contrast, Indianapolis, where I'm assuming based on your user name is where you're located, averages 24 inches per year). I would imagine your being a single mother wouldn't be an issue. I was under the impression that it's not really an issue anymore in this country to the extent that you'll be whispered about or discriminated against, minus perhaps some small towns in the Bible Belt. Maybe I'm wrong though. I'm also not sure how the schools stack up in Charlotte but I'm sure some locals can give some more in-depth information about that.

Old 08-22-2006, 04:24 PM

3,624 posts, read 10,102,247 times
Quote:
Originally Posted by IndyDiva73 View Post