U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > General U.S.
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 07-24-2007, 12:44 AM

5,608 posts, read 20,727,189 times

Advertisements

Hello fellow city-datians! I'm a college student at ASU (Tempe, AZ), who will be graduating in 10 months, currently in a process of scouting out the country for relocation! I'm feeling a little burnt out of the desert southwest, literally. I want to go back to a four-season climate, and a place that feels more like the heart of America than the borderlands. For a while there, my plan was simply to move back to Denver (born and raised there), and while that's still a major option, I want to take a good, hard look at the next two biggest cities on the plains a day's drive east of Denver: Kansas City and Omaha. Well, I guess you could also throw in Wichita as well, although KC and Omaha are more of what I had in mind.

For people who have experienced one or more of these cities, here's what I would like you to compare:
--Economy, job market. Not only how strong is each city, but which industries are growing the fastest? Which is the best for recent college grads?
--Urban amenities-- what does each city have to offer-- especially for a young, smart, outdoorsy and fun loving guy? How do the downtowns and other urban neighborhoods compare? How do the suburbs of each respective city compare?