U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > General U.S.
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 05-19-2011, 01:30 PM

1,855 posts, read 4,289,365 times

Advertisements

I thought this might be fun to try to guess.

Pretty self-explanatory I think, but which non-U.S. city does your city have the most business connections with?

In terms of:

- Business travelers between cities
- Where companies based in your city would choose to open up branch offices abroad first, and vice versa
- Shared industries, thus shared personnel (IE New York-London for finance)
- Large amount of trade between your city and another

I am not an expert in this area, so I don't know if these criteria are really valid. If you know more please elaborate.

Anywho, what would your guesses be?

For Portland I might say Vancouver. It's the first logical extension for Portland companies into the Canadian market, as well as being another major Pacific Northwest city (I think most companies tend to expand their operations regionally before going elsewhere). Plus I know that the vast majority of international flights from Portland head to Vancouver.

For Los Angeles I would like to say Tokyo, but realistically it is probably a Mexican or Canadian city (this might be true of nearly all American cities).

What do you think?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 05-19-2011, 01:40 PM

22,331 posts, read 32,161,575 times
For Philly would likely say London - especially the Pharma connections