Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > General U.S.
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 08-29-2011, 08:51 PM

10 posts, read 35,247 times

Advertisements

Hi,

I have lived in Madison all my life and there are many things I enjoy here (bike paths, things to do around town, lots of different shops from State St to chain places, university, cultural things to do/see), BUT...I just can't stand the winters and how long and gray they are. I've had something like 23 years to experience them and I've never embraced the cold. I dread it even more now that I have (almost) two young babies...

Anyway, the problem is I've never lived anywhere else and haven't traveled too many places, but I'm wondering what other U.S. cities have some of Madison's qualities, but NOT as cold for as long?? Anything? I've heard Austin, but that is just too hot for me. I like the heat just not that extreme. I tried to search on this topic but it was hard for me to find any other threads with other comparisons.

Thanks!
Quick reply to this message

Old 08-29-2011, 10:00 PM

4,374 posts, read 11,175,068 times
If you can take the rain try Seattle or Portland, however they are cloudy too.

Old 08-29-2011, 10:11 PM

10 posts, read 35,247 times
I've thought about those, although that would be a concern... hmmm.

Old 08-29-2011, 10:32 PM

3,380 posts, read 3,300,988 times