U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > General U.S.
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 09-03-2011, 04:43 PM

52 posts, read 51,252 times

Advertisements

Hello everyone and I want to thank you guys for taking your time to read this as I'm pretty undecided right now.

I'm a recent HS Grad and I have aspirations to potentially become a police officer. My parents are moving away, I don't really like the area I live in right now, however I've been planning to move for quite some time now, as I have 2.5k in the bank for the move. You live one time in this world, and I don't want to stay here and waste my time here..

Anyhow, I want to go to college out of state, but seriously the prices are BEYOND ridiculous for out of state tuition, and I really don't want to stay in Pennsylvania(No disrespect to Pennsylvanians.. to each his own).

I plan to head to a new place, get a job as a Security Guard, rent a studio apartment, and just save money and build until I have the money to attend academy. I was planning to move to New York, and still pretty much am, and have my sights set in Queens, where my uncle lives, but people keep moving out as the cost of living is ridiculous for those who have children. I have no children, no ties, no bad credit, so I could do it, but in the long run, I really don't want to break my heart and move away just because it costs too much.

Now to the POINT. I've been considering quite a few places I could head to and start a new life in, but I want to plan ahead so I don't head somewhere and get screwed.