U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > General U.S.
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 11-26-2011, 03:17 PM

11,145 posts, read 14,113,945 times

Advertisements

Right now I'm 27, but I have a strong desire to leave Connecticut. I am looking into other cities that are affordable, with a large gay population. I have a master's in accounting with 5 yrs of experience, so I don't think finding work would be a big problem in my field. So here is my plan...

Right now I am living in a tiny apartment paying $1,434 per month, on month-to-month. What I want to do now is move into a far superior apartment here in CT for a 6-month short-term lease for significantly cheaper. The short-term lease would end in June 2012, which is when I would then plan to move out of state. In the meantime, I would be using those 6 months to research and visit other cities, while continuing to gain work experience and save money. I think this would work out better than making a major move now. By the time I make the move, I would be 28 years old.

Is this too old to start a new life in a new city? Will it be hard to meet people and make new friends? The cities I am most considering are the following:
  • Columbus, OH
  • Atlanta, GA
  • Austin, TX
  • Orlando, FL
  • Boston, MA
  • Nashville, TN
Again, I want affordable and large gay population. I also don't want to experience too much culture shock. And I do NOT want to live in a city with many superficial and/or pretentious people!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 11-26-2011, 05:05 PM

12,084 posts, read 34,148,649 times