U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > General U.S.
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 1.5 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
Jump to a detailed profile or search
site with Google Custom Search

Business Search - 14 Million verified businesses
Search for:  near: 

Old 10-08-2007, 02:41 PM

3 posts, read 19,390 times
Cool Searching for most artistic AND cheapest city for young artist...

Hi there,

I'm a young painter, just graduated from college, who wants to move to a city with a vibrant art scene that is also very very very affordable to live in.

My plan is to get a part-time job of some sort--hopefully arts related-- and spend the rest of my time working on my paintings.

I've had some luck selling my artwork in the past, but I can't rely on it as a scource of income until I build up a very large portfolio. So... thus, the necessity of affordable living along with an artistic environment...

Thanks!
Quick reply to this message

Old 10-08-2007, 08:29 PM

1,565 posts, read 2,020,894 times
Artist Towns - Nationally and in your Neck of the Woods!

Film Fatale - There's a ton of info on this thread. Good luck!

Old 01-03-2010, 11:20 AM

2 posts, read 6,726 times
Kansas City MO! there is not better place for a poor young artist: cheap living costs and extremely supportive arts community.

Old 10-30-2011, 01:39 PM

34 posts, read 31,451 times
I am looking for the same type of thing myself. There is nothing here for me where I currently live and I am looking to relocate. Does anyone else have any other suggestions? Kansas City, MO is a good one, but what are the other options?

Old 10-30-2011, 02:12 PM

29,033 posts, read 32,988,763 times
This may help: Artist Towns - Nationally and in your Neck of the Woods!