U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > General U.S.
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 10-25-2012, 07:54 AM

1 posts, read 551 times

Advertisements

I'm a pretty recent college grad with a few years of experience in my field (human services). As of right now, I am pretty well locked into a job that I hate (and I do mean *hate*), and I am feeling unfufilled and hopeless that something else will come along. I'm starting to feel the need to establish myself somewhere new, somewhere where there are a wide variety of jobs and the cost of living is relatively low. Living in a place with a low crime rate, and lots to do in the surrounding areas is very important to me. Right now I am looking into Oklahoma City, but I feel like I may be overlooking a lot of good places outside of the Midwest region. Where, in your opinion, are the best places to start a new life?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 10-25-2012, 08:07 AM

6,620 posts, read 11,721,490 times
Go to indeed.com

Type in your job description and leave the city field blank.

Choose one that looks epic and is in a big city.

Apply.

Wait.

Pray.

Don't move without a job.

Old 10-25-2012, 09:40 AM

983 posts, read 1,436,821 times
Check out Sioux Falls and Omaha. They have a very low unemployment rate and cost of living. Minneapolis also has a lot of jobs, but the cost of living is higher. But don't move w/o a job.

Old 10-25-2012, 02:31 PM

1,691 posts, read 3,101,625 times
Check out the Texas cities Dallas,Fort Worth,Houston,San Antonio and Austin

Old 10-25-2012, 04:06 PM

21,281 posts, read 30,567,770 times
Quote: