U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > General U.S.
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 01-16-2013, 10:23 PM

5 posts, read 7,345 times

Advertisements

Hi all! I am from a small town in Upstate NY, but after I graduated college two years ago I moved to Charlotte, NC. Since I have been here my boyfriend from the same town moved down, and neither one of us feel like its a good fit for us. We are looking to move somewhere back towards NY...but not our hometown. We def want to stay on the east coast, and not too far south.

We are looking for a suburb, with sort of a hometown feel, but on the outskirts of a bigger city that has fun things to do. Safety is huge for us, and we want a place where we can actually meet people and talk to our neighbors. We aren't huge into city night life, we are more of a local bar kind of people. But we want to live somewhere that has a lot of places to eat, things to do and weather that has all four seasons, but all of them mild. Any ideas? I have been searching the internet for a while but I keep striking out! Any suggestions would be helpful
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 01-17-2013, 09:04 AM

59,342 posts, read 84,151,749 times
What part of Upstate NY did you come from? Would another part of Upstate work or perhaps something in PA? What about work prospects or budget? A suburb or town outside of maybe Pittsburgh, Philadelphia or Baltimore may work.

Old 01-17-2013, 11:53 AM