U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > General U.S.
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 06-29-2013, 08:04 AM

45 posts, read 111,836 times

Advertisements

I am a young college-educated professional with 2 years of experience in SQL database administration/development. I've done a lot of research on which city to move to and start my career.

The usual suspects always seem to be San Francisco, Boston, Seattle and NYC. However, I don't think I could afford to live in any of these cities (maybe only Seattle), because of the sky-high rent prices.

So I'm asking for help. Which big city, other than those mentioned above, should I move to to start my career as a database administrator/developer.

The general criteria are:

- decent salary compared with rent prices, for someone with (only) 2 years of experience

- good/solid public transit, as I would have to live without a car at first

- not too extreme a climate

- relatively low crime

- professional sports

Thank you for advice.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 06-29-2013, 08:18 AM

7,946 posts, read 15,045,063 times
Your problem is that most places that are 'hip' and also have great public transit are also very expensive to live in.