U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > General U.S.
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 10-12-2006, 11:56 AM

109 posts, read 370,083 times

Advertisements

Hello,
I am a single mother of an eleven-year-old boy (and not as young as that makes it sound like I might be) looking to start life over in a place more friendly and affordable than Massachusetts. I am an artist and will be working as a surgical tech. I love extremes of all kinds- in weather and topography.
I've been on this site, as well as the South Dakota site, and I've done a lot of research on just about every place in the US! I'm looking for an area where hiking and biking are great, and culture and diversity aren't too far away. A relatively safe area would of course be desirable as well. I love hot summers- (Yes, I know Duluth is cold,cold,cold!)- but I also love snow!
I'm interested in the Duluth area mainly in Minnesota, just about anywhere in Texas (I've spent some of the last three summers visiting all over there), the Grand Rapids and Traverse Bay area in Michigan (I've only visited Detroit ten years ago, and was not impressed) and the Black Hills area of South Dakota.
I've never been to SD, but would love to visit. The Cost-of-living comparison on Salary.com seems to surprisingly indicate that the Rapid City area might not be that less expensive than where I am.