Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > General U.S.
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 04-09-2014, 09:34 AM

4 posts, read 3,142 times

Advertisements

I am a foreign student from NZ coming to study in your great country for a term After hours of research I have concluded that I wish to study at a university in the Midwest, a region that I feel showcases the American image that I see when I think of the US.

This leaves me with the following universities to choose from:
ILLINOIS
University of Illinois (Urbana-Champaign)

INDIANA
University of Notre Dame (South Bend)

KANSAS
University of Kansas (Lawrence)

MISSOURI
University of Missouri (Columbia)
University of Missouri (St. Louis)
Westminster College (Fulton)

MINNESOTA
St. Olaf College (Northfield)
University of Minnesota (Minneapolis)

From that list where would you say would be best for a NZ student to study? I have to pick 5 and rank them in order of preference. Notre Dame is my clear favourite; it's near Chicago, a city I have always wanted to visit, and I worked out that it would only cost me ~$50 for a return trip on Amtrak.

So based on that my current top 5 are:

1. University of Notre Dame
2. ?
3. ?
4. ?
5. ?

I am pretty sure I don't want to study at Illinois because of the overwhelming Greek life presence, something that I - as a foreigner - feel is pretty moronic and something I am not accustomed to.

I am also weary about Missouri (both campuses) because Columbia is too isolated and St. Louis seems to have a bad reputation, as does that branch of UM.