U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > General U.S.
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 07-06-2014, 06:47 PM

11,145 posts, read 14,152,325 times

Advertisements

For those who don't know me, I am a corporate tax accountant at staff level. I am NOT in public/CPA accounting, so I have no clients. I work within the tax department of a corporation and want to stay that way (only do taxes for my corporation) because I like working only 40 hours a week. I currently make $75K plus 20% bonus for a total of $90K here in Fairfield County, CT, which isn't that great for the area. I am 30 years old and have a master's degree in accounting.

***ANYWAY***

How come all of the places that I would like to consider living in, have virtually NO good paying jobs in my specific field? Here is a list of the places that I think are beautiful and would like to live in:

• Shenandoah Valley (i.e. Roanoke, VA)
  • The panhandle of Florida, other than Jacksonville
  • Coastal Maine
  • Upstate NY
  • The Gulf Coast
  • Nevada, other than Las Vegas
  • Boise, ID
  • Washington, along I-90 just east of Seattle, but NOT Seattle itself
  • Oregon, other than the Portland area
It seems like most of the jobs in my field are primarily located in larger metropolitan areas, whenever I search online. But the places that I listed above are the only places in the country that interest me, to move to.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 07-06-2014, 07:10 PM

56,775 posts, read 81,126,018 times
https://www.sujobopps.com/postings/54533

Old 07-06-2014, 07:26 PM

4,787 posts, read 9,322,957 times