U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > General U.S.
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 08-02-2014, 11:12 AM

173 posts, read 197,256 times

Advertisements

My husband and I are planning to move from Louisiana next year because I have been getting too sick from the heat. I work in insurance and my husband is a painter. He would like to get a factory job or another job in construction. What colder US cities have a lot of factory or construction jobs? Looking for northeast or northwest cities preferably
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 08-02-2014, 11:38 AM

21,180 posts, read 30,336,326 times
I would recommend the Washington DC area, in particular the Northern Virginia area around Dulles Airport west to the VA/WV line along the I-66, Route 7 or US50 corridors which never really slowed down during the recession, and are still going strong for construction and light manufacturing jobs. The cost of living is well below much of the DC area as well.

Old 08-02-2014, 12:10 PM

56,501 posts, read 80,803,243 times
For insurance jobs, areas like Hartford, Central Upstate NY(Syracuse, Binghamton and Utica/Rome), Columbus OH, Omaha and Chicago come to mind. So, it may be a matter of seeing what is available for the hubby in his line of work in these areas or in an area you can find employment in. What else would you look for in a community/area/neighborhood?

Also, is size a factor? I only ask, because a smaller area may have what you are looking for. For an example, these positions are in the same county as this small city: https://preferredmutual.com/HR/Careers.aspx