U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > General U.S.
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 09-09-2014, 09:43 AM

2 posts, read 1,315 times

Advertisements

I am a senior in college and I am just starting to think about where I am going to live when I finish college. I currently attend college at a top 50 university (I won't mention the name but it's considered a "Public Ivy"). My degree is in B.A. U.S. History. I have no clue what city/state/region to look at so I was hoping you could guide me based on my needs.

Economy: I obviously want to move somewhere that has jobs. The four areas I am hoping to work in (in not particular order) are government, journalism/publishing/marketing/PR, teaching, or finance jobs.

Crime: As long as the whole city isn't a cesspool of crime and there are large pockets of safe neighborhoods I can deal with it. Obviously the lower the better but I know nowhere is perfect.

Weather: I can deal with hot weather in the late spring, summer and early fall, but heat and humidity all-year round is not to my liking. I can deal with overcast and rain if a city with that type of weather satisfies my other needs.

Personality: If any of you know of MBTI types I am an ISTJ, which means I am introverted, follow orders, meticulous, and serious. I can't stand hippie or stoner culture and my idea of activities are going to watch a game of football, going to a bar (not a club as I hate the places!), going to the cinema, or going to an alt-rock gig. I have people who are loud and obnoxious, and would prefer to move to a city where there are few of those types (if that's possible).