U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > General U.S.
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 09-30-2014, 02:48 PM

3 posts, read 2,884 times

Advertisements

Hi City-Data,

My names Blaise and I'm an Irish student who will be going on an exchange for one semester (or possibly two if I choose) to the US next Autumn (or fall as you guys call it..fall sounds better tbh) and I have to make my decision this October. They're are four partner universities to mine in the US but I've narrowed it down to either UMass Boston (College of Management) or UT Austin (McCombs).

I've heard good and bad things about both places and university's (mainly good) and think I would have a great time at either but I'm hoping for some advice as I know very little about either overall. I know that McCombs is probably a better business school than UMass in terms of rankings and all that? But as I'll most likely be working in Ireland after I get my degree, employers won't really know much difference between them. Im more concerned with having a good time as I doubt I'll have too many chances to experience the US of A after this.

Anyone willing to give me their opinion on things like costs, atmosphere, people, college life(No campus accomodation in UMass and alcohol not allowed?), college difficulty (which one is harder? I heard only 15% of UMass students graduate within 4yrs) and nightlife. Also what would it be like to make friends in each place? I will probably be going alone or possibly with one other person, and I would like to make friends with some locals if I could, not just other international students.

Thanks