U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > General U.S.
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Search Forums  (Advanced)
Reply Start New Thread
Old 10-27-2014, 02:23 PM
Location: Brooklyn, New York
3,779 posts, read 3,874,511 times
Reputation: 3594


Originally Posted by Chava61 View Post
As far I understood, NYC was 3 counties and 2 cities (as Brooklyn was a city as well New York/Manhattan) before the merge.
NYC consolidation was very messy. I'll try to do it in chronological order, but I am sure I'll miss something:

1846: Town of West Farms is created out of Westchester.
1855: Town of Morrisania is created out of West Farms.
1855: City of Brooklyn annexes City of Williamsburgh and town of Bushwick, becoming the third largest city in America. The area of New York and Brooklyn is referred to as "Twin Cities".
1873: Town of Kingsbridge was established out of the borders of Yonkers.
1873: New York City annexes the towns of Kingsbridge, West Farms, and Morrisania from Westchester County, abolishes the towns and incorporates the territory into New York County.
1886: Brooklyn annexes the town of New Lots.
1894: Brooklyn annexes the towns of Flatbush, Gravesend, and New Utrecht.
1895: New York City annexes town of Westchester and other territory east of the Bronx river, incorporating it into the New York County.
1896: New York City annexes City Island.
1896: Brooklyn annexes the town of Flatlands and has the same borders as Kings County.
1898: The new NYC with current borders. The joining of New York City (New York County), Brooklyn City (Kings County), Staten Island (Richmond County), Queens (western portion of Queens County, the eastern portion is split and formed Nassau County).
1912: The previously annexed portions of Westchester County by New York County split and become Bronx County, still within NYC city limits.
1930: Brooklyn (Kings County) surpasses Manhattan (New York County) in population once the Bronx is separated.

Thus NYC became 5 counties:
Borough of Manhattan = New York County
Borough of Brooklyn = Kings County
Borough of Queens = Queens County
Borough of the Bronx = Bronx County
Borough of Staten Island = Richmond County

Last edited by Gantz; 10-27-2014 at 02:34 PM..
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 10-27-2014, 02:26 PM
Location: Who Cares, USA
2,343 posts, read 2,764,590 times
Reputation: 2258
Originally Posted by Davy-040 View Post
Would be nice if the US limited itself to 50 CSA's.
No, it really wouldn't. Urban agglomeration maybe, but not CSA's. Bad idea in this country, where some CSA's take up areas bigger than many states and contain vast amounts of rural, unpopulated to sparsely populated land.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Please update this thread with any new information or opinions. This open thread is still read by thousands of people, so we encourage all additional points of view.

Quick Reply

Over $104,000 in prizes was already given out to active posters on our forum and additional giveaways are planned!

Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > General U.S.
Follow City-Data.com founder on our Forum or

All times are GMT -6.

2005-2019, Advameg, Inc. · Please obey Forum Rules · Terms of Use and Privacy Policy · Bug Bounty

City-Data.com - Archive 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35 - Top