Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > General U.S.
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Thread summary:

Moving to US: Ranger work, Forestry Service, national parks, career management assistance

Old 11-01-2006, 03:26 PM

2 posts, read 3,344 times

Advertisements

Evening folks (well it's evening for me)

I am currently studying for a degree (Bsc) in Bioscience and Conservation here in the UK, however I am considering moving to the US, hopefully to work for the NPS.

I have extensive experience of Ranger work here in the UK,and assisted with the local FC (our equivalent Forestry Service) since I was 14. It has been a dream of mine to work in a National Park in the US ever since I studied the Glacier national park as a case study. I would be very interested in the possibility of becoming a US citizen and working as a Ranger in Law Enforcement within the parks, as I have done some Work Experience with the police, and have also done a lot of outdoor hiking/teamwork stuff. The job that NPS ranger do seems to embody everything I love doing-working outdoors and also enforcing the law and serving the public, whereas the Ranger service in the UK can be a frustrating job in that we have no actual power to enforce the law in national parks.

Anyway, main question: are there are good suggestions about what to consider doing and when, I know I need to be a US citizen to work full time for the NPS, but would it be an idea to get more experience in the UK after university and before moving?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 11-01-2006, 04:27 PM