U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > General U.S.
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 11-08-2014, 04:33 PM

3 posts, read 4,346 times

Advertisements

I live in Ditmas Park, Brooklyn with my wife and two-year-old child. We love some things about it here, but are not New Yorkers and are looking to move in the next 2-5 years. I am an artist and she is a teacher and there is no way we could afford to buy what we want here. For those of you unfamiliar with the neighborhood, Ditmas Park is an island of freestanding mostly Victorian homes extending out from the south side of Prospect Park. It in many ways does not feel like you are in New York, more of a suburban Connecticut feel.

The houses, many of them totally unrenovated, are full of character and boast some great architecture but are absurdly expensive (but what isn't in New York?). A ramshackle 5-bedroom Victorian that might have been a former rooming house goes for 900k while it would go for 50k anywhere else. We'd actually love the challenge of a fixer-upper but not for 900k.

Things we really want/need to have:

--extensive historic housing stock, preferably Victorians/Four Square/Craftsman homes with yards
--walkability/bikeability (ie, there are sidewalks and bike lanes)
--good schools, whether public or private
--educated, engaged neighbors
--a little bit of an edge; we don't want a white-washed enclave of homogenous Patagonia-wearing, Starbucks-drinking clones

Oh, and we'd like to stay in a coastal state (east, west or gulf). We're super flexible on climate.

Thanks!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message