U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > General U.S.
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 11-14-2014, 08:36 AM

3 posts, read 2,734 times

Advertisements

Hi! I'm in my early 30s, living in Pennsylvania. I work as an instructional designer for a university but also have a background in software support and software training. All in all I have about 6 years experience in technology, 4 being in higher education. I have a master of science degree in instructional media.

I've been thinking about moving for a long time because I grew up in PA and I long to separate myself from my roots. I had lived in New England for many years, but it is just too cold up there for me. I also lived a bit in London when I was in my early 20s (South Kensington), and I loved the neighborhood feel of that area. I'm not sure if a place like NYC would be my type of thing just because it is so busy and so expensive.

What I'm looking for:

1. A place with plenty of jobs in my field (higher education/technology/etc.)
2. Warm (I am not afraid to say goodbye to seasons - I really dislike winter)
3. Not crazily inexpensive. I would like to be able to afford an apartment to myself - nothing fancy. I'm okay with a studio - I'd rather not have a roommate at this point in my life.
4. Lots of interesting, well-educated, liberal-minded people.
5. Neighborhood feel
6. Positive/friendly vibe
7. Single people!
8. Easy to get out of the city and go on hikes, kayak trips, camping, etc.
9. Vibrant culture
10. Dog-friendly