U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > General U.S.
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 11-18-2014, 07:32 PM

33 posts, read 25,932 times

Advertisements

Okay, so I'm an author. A book I'm working on is centralized on a fictitious small-town sort of city. But I need to decide on a location to base it in. Here's the factors I'm looking for:

1. Mountains
Very important. I'm preferring something in the Rockies, but any mountainous area is okay. And preferably the sort you can populate without needing a belay system.

2. Large body of water
This can be the ocean, an inland sea, or a large lake. When I say large I mean you could potentially navigate the thing with a small navy ship (somewhere around 300-400 feet) If its inland, a navigable river would be nice, but in mountainous areas, such rivers are rare due to shallows/rapids/dams/etc, so the river isn't extremely necessary.

3. It doesn't need to be the size of D.C. or the popularity of Chicago, but a city relatively well known within a 30 minute drive (or so) of the location is what I'd most like.

4. Region of variety weather
As you might guess, I'm from Ohio (NE Ohio, actually). I never know if its going to be sunny or cloudy, rainy or dry, hot or chilly, etc. I'm NOT looking for that much variety. However, I want an area that can yield fertile crops in summer and has snow (even potentially blizzards) in winter.