U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > General U.S.
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 05-05-2015, 09:45 PM

1 posts, read 1,097 times

Advertisements

Note in advance: This post is being EXTREMELY picky with specifics and I'm most likely describing a mini-utopia that doesn't exist. I'm aware of this. But, I am just posting my ideal place in the hope that somehow there is a place that at least meets a large majority of the specifications listed.

I am 23. She is 27.
I have four years of warehouse experience with some university (not completed) but I am striving to move onto more. She is an illustrator with a master's degree in Graphic Design. She is also into craft-making and attending craft events and selling her own works.
The jobs I can typically land are in the $25,000 per year bracket and she is just now beginning her career in the U.S. so we will just go by my income for now. As a result, we can't live in any extremely expensive areas (such as New York City, San Francisco, etc.).
We have a sizable savings in order to help us establish ourselves.

Neither of us can tolerate the heat and humidity (we currently live in the South and are hating the weather).
60 to 65 degrees Fahrenheit is when we feel the most comfortable.
We love cloudy days.
I don't like heavy snow or having to scrape ice off of my car every morning for half the year.
Light wind is nice, but extremely windy places can get annoying real quick. So preferably not too much wind.

A good public four-year university is a must. I still intend on completing my degree when I find the opportunity to do so.