U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > General U.S.
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 10-25-2015, 10:17 AM

14 posts, read 9,117 times

Advertisements

Hi guys,

I've been researching for the past several months on this site and reading multiple "best-of" articles. I grew up in NY and enjoy the walkability and nightlife but I really am getting tired of the sky-high rent and harsh winters.

Ideally, my top three criteria are walkability, affordability, and no harsh winters; I know these are a tough combination to find. I don't have a car, nor do I want one, but I understand that most warmer cities are harder to navigate without one. I wouldn't mind taking the bus, light-rail, or living closer to downtown areas in order to make this a possibility. If all else fails, I'd get a car for times when I really need it. I know it all depends on where you choose to live and work, so I'm keeping that in mind.

In terms of budget and jobs, I really wouldn't want to spend more than $800-$900 on a studio. I've been living with roommates most of my life, so I really value my own personal space. I work in the tech industry for an electronics refurbisher and have a B.A. in I/O Psychology. I'm looking at administrative jobs and tech jobs so either of those fields would be fine.