U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > General U.S.
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 04-30-2016, 10:27 AM

11 posts, read 17,397 times

Advertisements

Hi,

I work in sales and I'm not required to be in the office so you could say I work remotely. I currently live in Illinois with a family member (don't own any property at the moment). My employer has offices in Texas, Florida and Nevada among a few other states, so I'm allowed to live in one of those states if I want.

Since I have family and friends in Illinois, I want to spend 99% of my time in Illinois. But is it possible to become a resident of Texas, Florida or Nevada and no longer pay state income tax since since I can technically 'work' there? If so, would I need to buy or rent property in one of these states to claim residency or is there a way around that?

The main thing I don't want to get myself in any tax dilemma with the state of Illinois.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 04-30-2016, 10:33 AM

3,145 posts, read 2,829,566 times
If you are living in Illinois 99% of the time, then Illinois would have an agreement and exemption with the other states over waving income taxes. It probably doesn't exist since the only exemptions I am aware of are between border states.

Old 04-30-2016, 10:43 AM

2,669 posts, read 1,981,092 times
If you reside in a state, you are subject to the tax laws of that state. It's just that simple.