U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > General U.S.
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 08-25-2016, 11:25 AM

1 posts, read 524 times

Advertisements

My husband and I want to move. It's something we've thought about for years, and we're finally going to take the plunge and do it. We are both in our early 30s and born and raised just south of Boston. There are many reasons we want to move, with the obvious one being the notoriously bad New England winters. We're looking for a fresh start, somewhere new where we can raise a family. I work in banking, and will have to find new employment as my employer is a New England based. My husband was out of work on injury and has recently been cleared to work. This is the best time we can think to move as we have saved a decent amount of money and my husband is finally able to work again, and is now seeking employment.

Our wishlist:

*A moderate climate, but preferably with seasons. I really dislike snow, but I wouldn't mind if there was a dusting here and there.
*A decent cost of living. We would like to buy and coming from Boston where the price of a home is through the roof, we are looking for affordability when it comes to housing markets.
*We'd prefer a city or suburb with a decent population. We're not looking to live in a heavily wooded area.

**A real bonus would be near the coast, but this is not a deal breaker**

I have family in the Greenville, SC- I do like the area, but I'm not sure I love the area.
I also have family in St Petersburg, FL, I love the area, but it is simply TOO hot for us.