U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > General U.S.
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 11-21-2016, 08:55 PM

1 posts, read 816 times

Advertisements

Hello! I am a gay medical student currently living in Columbus, OH. I have lived in Columbus for 6 years and I love it but it has become a little suffocating because the gay scene is smaller and fairly young due to Ohio State's presence. Most young professionals here either are in professional school at Ohio State or work at Abercrombie due to the company's HQ. I am applying to residency programs in a little over a year and think I am ready to head to a larger city.

I have lots of friends in NYC but I think it might be miserable living there on a medical resident's budget, and it's a pretty hard life making it in New York IMO. I feel like there are probably cities with an easier life.

I really like Chicago but I would prefer to move somewhere warmer. I don't have much experience with other places so I was hoping you guys had some insight. I am looking for somewhere with opportunities to be active, a larger gay community, and lots of educated young professionals. Also, there have to be major hospitals to which I could apply (from what I can tell, Orlando and Austin do not have much in this department).
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 11-21-2016, 08:56 PM

1,133 posts, read 1,275,354 times
San Francisco maybe.

Old 11-22-2016, 11:01 AM

9,059 posts, read 4,132,457 times
Portland, Seattle, Austin, Denver, or San Francisco.

Old 11-22-2016, 11:17 AM

29,946 posts, read 27,415,389 times