U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > General U.S.
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 01-19-2017, 02:33 PM

17 posts, read 10,707 times

Advertisements

Hi All, a little bit about us.

Wife & I in early 30's, planing to have a little one with in the next year or so. Im a travelling IT Consultant, so Mon-Thu I have to be at clients site & weekends I can be home( Client pays for expenses). Looking for a place to settle down and raise the kid. Below are my criteria.

I need to travel on a weekly basis (Can possibly work from home one week in a month).Local job market doesn't really matter.

1.Good Schools, Preferably small city/town with less traffic, not too high COL, close to nature and with in 60-90 mins to a domestic airport.

2. Milder weather, I dont expect a perfect place but prefer milder seasons.

3.Outdoor opportunities && outdoor culture , Surfing and mountains, Lakes and mountains would do too. I want to raise a outdoor adventurous kid(Surf/Ski/Bike/Horse riding/ SUP/ etc).

4.Preferably Western state.

5.Some place where I dont have to go far to find outdoor opportunities year round, so basically will be coming home for a vacation every week

6.Wife is a photographer and planning to open her photo studio & boutique ( so a place with a bit of downtown & touristy culture).

7.My Pay check would be 150k per annum. Not counting on wifeys income as its always a hit & miss.

8.Housing budget would be preferably less than 400k, 3BD SFH(dosnet want to work all life for mortgage) can push it up to 600k if everything else fall in line.