U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > General U.S.
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 03-12-2017, 11:50 PM

2 posts, read 1,330 times

Advertisements

I grew up in the upper midwest and have lived in Wisconsin and Minnesota my whole life. I'm now in my mid-30s, no kids, and free of obligations, so I'm looking to relocate. I'm absolutely sick of the cold and the snow and need a new adventure, if nothing else. I work in IT and can move almost anywhere.

I've always loved coastal California and the Pacific Northwest and have always wanted to move there. I'm kind of worried about taking the plunge due to the housing costs. I'd be willing to have a roommate initially, but I would not want to live like that indefinitely. Is the west coast even remotely doable on one income these days? If not, what are other good alternatives?

What I'm looking for:

- No regular snow. Once in a while freak storms may be okay.
- Mild to hot climate. I do not mind very hot climates, but I'm not necessarily going out of my way to find them. I hate the cold.
- Things to do! I like to hike with my dog and get outside. I'm into music, art, design, architecture, theater, wine, and technology.
- Open minded people. I am at heart a pragmatic midwesterner, but I do lean more liberal on social issues. I am not religious and would prefer to avoid the Bible Belt.
- Dating, especially open-minded, somewhat liberal men with similar interests with no kids. This is a problem for me right now, as most of the single men in my age range (mid 30s to mid 40s) here aren't on the same page as me, are single dads, or both.