U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > General U.S.
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 04-04-2017, 07:23 AM

53 posts, read 39,967 times

Advertisements

My wife and I grew up in WV, met in college in WV, and have bounced around a bit since. We moved to Boston for my first job and currently live in Pittsburgh. I work in finance, so I have to be in a bigger city. We are hoping to start a family soon, but this problem is holding us back.

BOSTON was a tough adjustment, but we ended up loving it. Everything was beautiful and high in quality. The city is easy to travel around in and there is always something inspiring or interesting to do. Lots of career opportunities. Negatives are the insane cost of living and the distance to our families in WV. We would have to fly to see them that's both expensive and time consuming.

PITTSBURGH is not for us. We moved here because of all the positive press around the city being livable, but it feels like a dead end to us. Everything is run down, the weather is among the dreariest in the US, and the general vibe is depressing. Transit is nonexistent, meaning you have to drive everywhere, but there's always a traffic jam and no parking when you finally arrive. It is both close to family in WV and affordable. There are no nice neighborhoods anywhere near downtown and everyone commutes in via car from 20-30 minutes out.