U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > General U.S.
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 10-04-2019, 06:09 PM

11 posts, read 6,745 times

Advertisements

I will be moving out of California next summer and I am considering Southern Utah, Northern Arizona, or Colorado. How hard is it to get used to cold and snow? I am tired of the heat and 110 degree summers, but I don’t want the other extreme, either. Everyone says California has the best climate, well I am trying to find the SECOND best climate. I have no experience with snow, I don’t mind a few inches, but can’t do feet and feet of snow. Is it possible to acclimate? And if so, how long does it take?

Last edited by EmmaZ; 10-04-2019 at 06:24 PM..
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 10-04-2019, 06:36 PM

1,603 posts, read 2,081,090 times
Why would you move somewhere cold if you don't want to deal with cold weather? It's not like your choices are only 110 degree summers or a place that's frigid. There are plenty of places in the west that don't experience those kinds of extremes. I would recommend looking at Prescott, AZ or St. George, UT. You will experience cold during the winter, but you will not be socked in by feet of snow. It will take a little bit to acclimate, but you will get used to it as long as you have warm clothes.

Old 10-04-2019, 08:08 PM

1,165 posts, read 413,988 times