U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > General U.S.
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 10-13-2019, 04:04 PM

1 posts, read 401 times

Advertisements

Currently live outside Knoxville (population around 200k) looking to find a new area in the Western half of the US (farthest East consideration would be NW Arkansas)

I work in healthcare management and husband works retail. Kids are grown. We make around 120k salary which is double the median income in our current area, so I think we have pretty marketable skills.

We'd like to find a smaller city similar to Knoxville size for work, but live in a little more rural town with an easy commute. We do not like to live on top of other people.

Other considerations are mild winters with little snow. We enjoy outdoor walks and do love the mountains but just general enjoyable outdoors is fine, because in reality we don't have a lot of time to really do a lot of recreation.

I know Texas is very affordable but not interested in the really big cities and I know it's not the most scenic place to live. But maybe there is a spot there for us.

Any suggestions for us to look into?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 10-13-2019, 04:58 PM

2,394 posts, read 1,583,986 times
Check out New Mexico. cool place and pretty affordable

Old 10-13-2019, 08:08 PM

1,305 posts, read 2,642,721 times
Without getting down to a more specific area, the list is pretty large. With that said, I will stick to what may be more appealing, at least in my opinion. Also, keep in mind, some of these places get a lot of snow, and some get no snow and have long summers.