U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > General U.S.
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 06-15-2008, 09:25 PM

4,114 posts, read 9,225,310 times

Advertisements

I know there are nice and bad people everywhere, but many places generally seem to be "stratified," if you will, in terms of having more nice than cantankerous folks, and vice versa.

I work in sales and customer service, so I encounter all kinds of people on a daily basis. I can tell you the types of people that generally tend to represent the various states, all states being in no particular order:

Nice: Kentucky, Tennessee, Texas, Georgia, California, Michigan, South Carolina, Mississippi, Florida, Illinois (downstate and Chicago area alike)

Mix of both: North Carolina, Alabama, Arizona, Ohio, New York (mix of very nice and not mean but just crazy), Missouri, Indiana

Urking me: Wisconsin, Connecticut, New Jersey, Iowa, Massachusetts, West Virginia (I guess it's Appalachian hardcore)

Also, regardless of state, the redneck and trashy folks crowds are often the most cantankerous and hardest to work with. They spout the most attitude and universally seem to be very unhappy, no matter if the person is from Somerset, KY or Brooklyn, NY.

Wealthier folks, on the other hand, usually mind their own business and don't give me much trouble to be honest. Some are friendly and some aren't, but few are outright ugly.

What are your thoughts?

Last edited by EclecticEars; 06-15-2008 at 10:14 PM..
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 06-24-2008, 12:53 AM

16,729 posts, read 23,151,705 times