U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > General U.S.
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 07-11-2008, 08:38 PM

1 posts, read 1,934 times

Advertisements

Hi,
I'm a newbie to the forum, and I'm aware that others have posted similiar posts - but none of them have answered my particular questions - therefore any help/advice anyone could provide would be incredibly appreciated!

Basically, I will be starting my final year at university this coming september. I would have completed a 1 year Industrial Placement,(like a work-experience) in a global online advertising company. They have 3 offices in the US - LA (Santa Monica), New York, and i believe now Chicago.
I have been in the UK since i was 5, and now am 22. - so obviously i know the in's and out's, where to go, what to eat, best place for this, best place for that etc...when it comes to london.

I dont see myself becoming as successful as i want to be..staying in london. as i'm sure you're all aware of the ridiculous house prices, fuel prices, and general inflation - it's almost impossible for someone my age to even get close to the property ladder!

My questions are:
1 - How easy would it be, if i moved from my companies London office to one of the US offices? (preferably LA)

2 - I have only ever been to the US once, and that was to New York - and i loved it, but a bit too......corporate. - Is LA a good place to begin a living for a newly wed husband and wife? family? etc.

3 - What are the prices of your general domestic necessities like? - eg) gas, electricity, water, phone bills etc....