U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > General U.S.
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 02-03-2009, 11:37 PM

3 posts, read 3,031 times

Advertisements

My husband and I have lived in Michigan for way too many years and have endured way too many winters. We have discussed moving south but not quite sure where. I did the Florida thing for a year and it is too expensive. He doesn't want to move back to Puerto Rico because the jobs pay crappy. We don't want to go to Georgia but are considering South or North Carolina.
I don't know much about SC so I am asking for suggestions. I work in healthcare as a nurse tech and a unit secretary on a med surg floor. I am going to school for nursing. My husband has worked in construction for many many years usually doing concrete flatwork.
Our kids our done with school so that is not an issue, except me of course so I can finish my nursing. Waiting lists in MI just to do clinicals are ridiculously long (at least 4 years).
Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated. Please take the following into consideration.

1. Temps higher than 50
2. Job availability
3. We do need to be able to purchase spanish food products (mainly puerto rican) so a latino population would be nice
4. Low crime
5. Great communities and environments to live in
and most importantly....GOLF courses!!!!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 02-04-2009, 11:14 AM

2,237 posts, read 6,569,671 times
Quote:
Originally Posted by WannaBreakFree View Post