Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > General U.S.
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 02-14-2010, 05:14 PM

4 posts, read 7,976 times

Advertisements

I am a 21-year old student at Boise State University. I want to begin doing a preliminary survey of cities here to make a good decision.

I have lived in Idaho for a long time, Montana for 9 years, and want to find a more urban, liberal, and progressive place than Boise.

I am currently majoring in History, minor in Japanese, History Teaching qualification, who is hoping to get an Masters of Library Science degree, and become a librarian in one of the bigger cities here in the Northwest.

Mass Transit is a key, since I cannot drive. I would like to find somewhere where I could get on a bus/light rail late at night.

I have Asperger Syndrome, so I would like to find a city where there are a lot of Aspies. I am a Japanese-American, and would like to find a city where there is a lot of Japanese food/culture. I would like to find a good Buddhist temple, and a place where the people are tolerant of those of other religions.

Since I am a big nerd, I would like to find a city with a lot of Anime/Manga/Video Game/Science Fiction fans would be nice. I also would like to find people to discuss books with.

Here is a list of my preliminary cities, all obvious.

Seattle (big city, progressive-liberal, technological, nerdy, but high cost of living and mass transit seems questionable)